Skip to main content

Teaching and Learning Awards 2022

DCAD hosted Durham University’s annual Teaching and Learning Awards Dinner on 13th December 2022 at Hatfield College. These awards which are open to Academic and PS staff have 5 categories. Following 80 nominations, various sub panels and final deciding panel, the shortlisted candidates in each category and overall winner are listed below:

Excellence in Teaching and Learning

Dr Adam Townsend, Dept of Mathematical Sciences – Winner
Dr Leo Hopkinson, Dept of Anthropology
Dr John Bothwell, Dept of Biosciences
Dr Rory McCarthy, School of Government and International Affairs
Vasanti Piette, School of Modern Languages and Culture
Dr Elisabeth Kirtsoglou, Dept of Anthropology

Excellence in Student Academic Support

Janice Oakes, Dept of Earth Sciences – winner
Dr Viktoria Ivleva, School of Modern Languages and Culture
Dr Ekaterina Chown , School of Modern Languages and Culture
Dr Madeleine Chalmers, School of Modern Languages and Culture
Faith Jones, Dept of Sports and Exercise Science
Dr Noura Al-Moubayed, Dept of Computer Science

Excellence in Research Student Supervision

Dr Tahani Coolen-Maturi, Dept of Mathematical Sciences
Prof Zhibin Lin, Durham University Business School – winner
Dr Hannah King, Dept of Sociology
Dr William Brittain , Dept of Chemistry
Prof. Gavin Brige, Dept of Geography
Prof John Evans, Dept of Chemistry

Most Impactful Innovation in Teaching and Learning Award

Dr Tim Hawkins, Dept of Biosciences
Prof Gillian Bentley & Dr Paulo Fortis, Dept of Anthropology – winner
Rachel Bickerdike, Careers and Enterprise – winner

Prof Mike Nicholson, Durham University Business School

Unsung Hero of Teaching and Learning Award

Prof Pippa Matthews, Durham University Business School
Dr. Pamela Graves, Dept of Archeology – winner
Joanne Patterson, Dept of Archeology
Dr Phil Bolton, Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Dr Charlotte Quarless, Dept of Engineering
Dr Fran Cettl, Durham Centre for Academic Development

Congratulations to all winners and shortlisted candidates. Photos of the event will follow on this page in the new year.